Author Topic: Multi Commander 6.0 BETA  (Read 31005 times)

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4271
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Multi Commander 6.0 BETA
« on: February 14, 2016, 15:18:37 »
The following fixes/changes since v5.9

245+ Changes

-- Build 2110 (27-Mar-2016) - RELEASE CANDIDATE
  ADDED - New Find Files - Hex/Binary search now work
  FIXED - New Find Files - CustomCommand MC.FileSearch.Search works again
  FIXED - New Find Files - Fixed issues with multiple search location.
  FIXED - New Find Files - Lots of code cleanup
  FIXED - New Find Files - Memory leak and thread sync issues fixed
  REMOVE- Old File search dialog and engine is now removed

-- Build 2105 (25-Mar-2016)
  ADDED - New FindFiles - Multiple LookIn, Exlude Path, Look For now works
  ADDED - New FindFiles - Can now Load/Save FindFilesFilters
  ADDED - New FindFiles - Can now Load from global advanced filters
  ADDED - New FindFiles - Can now Save FindFilesFilter to Global filters
  ADDED - New FindFiles - Reset button now works correct in the Advanced Dialog
  FIXED - New FindFiles - Many minor UI issues
  FIXED - New FindFiles - Thread shutdown issue

-- Build 2098 (22-Mar-2016)
  FIXED - Lots of fixes for the New FindFilesDialog, Most options now work.

-- Build 2096 (20-Mar-2016)
  ADDED - New FindFiles Dialog. Dialog is now split into two,
          One for simple searches and for advanced file searches.
  ADDED - New File search engine. Is now using the advanced filter engine to match files.
  FIXED - Changing registry values that was longer then 255 char failed.
  FIXED - Fixed a leap year issue.
  FIXED - 1 Rare stability issues.

-- Build 2085 (23-Feb-2016)
  FIXED - Updated 3de party 7Zip components to v15.14
  FIXED - MultiRename saveed and loaded the add/replace pairs from wrong location.
  FIXED - MultiRename had some MultiLanguage Issue
  FIXED - Colors now reset and revalidate them self better if there are any 'time' rules
  CHANGE- Changed AppIcon to match Website logo (thanks for Oliver for that)

-- Build 2075 (14-Feb-2016)
  ADDED - File Coloring engine is now using the Advanced Filter system for file coloring.
  CHANGE- File Coloring Rules Editor change to use the advanced filtering system
  FIXED - Copy Progress bar issues when copying more then 4TB or data
  FIXED - 2 Rare stability issues.


File Coloring
Does not look like much. But a lot of changes under the covers for File Coloring. The entire file coloring system is now using the Advanced Filter system.
So it is not possible to create even more advanced rules for file coloring.
So please test the file coloring and report any issues you find.

Note
The ColorRules configurations files have a new format. They are automatically converted into the new format when loaded.
But if you revert back to a previous version. The old version of MC will fail to read them.

Build 2098 - Find Files

  Fixed in build 2098 (since 2096)
 * RegEx Content matching should now work. both with case sensative option on/off
 * Verify RegEx Button only shown if content matching method is regex
 * Verify RegEx Button for file content matching now work
 * SubLevel limit work again
 * Exclude folder filter works again
 
 Known Issues still with new find files 
  * Reset button on Advanced dialog not always work (Make sure panel focus "blue frame" is on search panel, then it work)
  * RegEx content matching in UTF8 files are for now match as ASCII.
  * Hex/Binary content matching now working yet
  * Some tooltip are wrong
  * Load/Save Filter not working yet
  * Load From Gloabal Filter kind of working but still work to do


Build 2105 - Find Files

  Fixed in build 2105 (since 2098)
  * Reset button on Advanced dialog not always work (Make panel focus "blue frame" is on search panel, then it work)
  * Language and Tooltip text issues
  * Load/Save FindFiles Filter now working
  * Load From Global Filter working
  * Create Global Filter from a FindFiles filter
  * Multiple LookIn location now work (Adv and Simple dlg)
  * Multiple Exclude Folders location now work (Adv and Simple dlg)
  * Multiple LookFor Matches now work (Simple dlg, Already worked in Adv)

Known Issues
  * RegEx content matching in UTF8 files are for now match as ASCII.
  * Hex/Binary content matching not working yet
  * Search using script does not work (Custom command MC.FileSearch.Search )
« Last Edit: April 23, 2016, 13:40:54 by Mathias (Author) »

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4271
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2016, 16:18:28 »
It took a lot more time than I expected But now the next Beta is here..  From build 2096 there is now the first step to the new File Search

What changed is the FindFiles Dialog.  It is now split into two. One Simple and one Advanced.
Also the File Search engine is change. And it is built on the Advanced Filter engine. So you can now create a lot more complex searches.

The Search Panel/Result Panel is still the same. There are plans to change that too, But that will happen later.

There are some minor issues with the new Find Files dialog/engine. But fell free to send me post about them anyway if you find issues.
There will be an updated version in a couple of days.

You can still access the OLD find Files dialog with Ctrl+Shift and click on the Show/Hide Dialog icon in the Search Panel.
It should still work.. (However I only did some fast testing. So there are a risk that it is broken.)
« Last Edit: March 20, 2016, 16:20:36 by Mathias (Author) »

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2016, 11:47:33 »
With b2096 (w7 x64) I get crashes when using REGEX searches which previously worked. (I sent in one of the crash reports.)
In testing a bit more - I find the .*(x|y|z).* formula most likely to crash but regex with a single term will CTD or not find the term which I know is present.  e.g. I ran one search for a single regex value 5 times = 3 CTDs; 2 nothing found.  :-\

OT
I was wondering about inline rename word boundaries, If I double click a word between other words it will select the trailing space.  Can that be altered to just select the word?
e.g. quick brown fox vs quick brown fox


Thanks for MC the update Mathias  ;)

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4271
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2016, 12:32:32 »
With b2096 (w7 x64) I get crashes when using REGEX searches which previously worked. (I sent in one of the crash reports.)
In testing a bit more - I find the .*(x|y|z).* formula most likely to crash but regex with a single term will CTD or not find the term which I know is present.  e.g. I ran one search for a single regex value 5 times = 3 CTDs; 2 nothing found.  :-\

What are you using regex matches on ? Filename / Content / other ?  from Advanced or Simple mode ?
RegEx for content matching is not fully added yet, Entire content matching engine is being rewritten.





Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2016, 13:00:42 »
Searching content in txts. 
Tried both simple & advanced modes with similar/same results.

Sounds like I need to wait a while then, thanks for fast response Mathias.

Update
 Just tried a regular content search & in simple mode it sometimes honours the sublevel setting; in advanced it searches all folder levels regardless of setting @ 0
Erratic!

Tried the old dialog (Ctrl-Shift-click) & it locks up & cannot be closed.
Case sensitivity switch seems to be on be default.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2016, 13:23:07 by Ulfhednar »

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4271
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2016, 13:43:42 »
No it never honors the sublevel settings :) Many of the minor options are not hooked up yet. (Some of them will be in next beta )

Simple/Advanced backend are the same. Difference is that simple is auto generating the filter that you manually setup (and see) in the advanced dialog.

Normal searches work.

The old dialog work once. then you have to close the search panel.. That will not be fixed.. the old dialog will be gone when release version is done.



Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4271
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2016, 19:07:26 »
Build 2098 - Find Files

  Fixed in build 2098 (since 2096)
 * RegEx Content matching should now work. both with case sensative option on/off
 * Verify RegEx Button only shown if content matching method is regex
 * Verify RegEx Button for file content matching now work
 * SubLevel limit work again
 * Exclude folder filter works again
 
 Known Issues still with new find files 
  * Reset button on Advanced dialog not always work (Make panel focus "blue frame" is on search panel, then it work)
  * RegEx content matching in UTF8 files are for now match as ASCII.
  * Hex/Binary content matching now working yet
  * Some tooltip are wrong
  * Load/Save Filter not working yet
  * Load From Gloabal Filter kind of working but still work to do
  * And probably something else too.

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2016, 21:22:23 »
No it never honors the sublevel settings :) Many of the minor options are not hooked up yet. (Some of them will be in next beta )

Simple/Advanced backend are the same. Difference is that simple is auto generating the filter that you manually setup (and see) in the advanced dialog.

Normal searches work.

The old dialog work once. then you have to close the search panel.. That will not be fixed.. the old dialog will be gone when release version is done.

Well.... I had a variety of results when using those settings that aren't hooked up. 
1. search gives 10 results in sublevel 0
2. search gives 20 results in sublevel all
3. search gives 40 results in sublevel 3
I can only assume that it was just randomly matching - but it really looked like it was working in different ways.  I ran those searches one after the other & checked where it was finding it's results in the path.
I got a lot of mixed results on various settings!

Maybe my MC is magic?   :P ;D


Thanks for the update - will try it now! ;)
« Last Edit: March 22, 2016, 21:25:15 by Ulfhednar »

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4271
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2016, 21:39:59 »
It worked from Simple dialog. not from adv.  There it was unset so it could have had any value

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2016, 12:45:48 »
It worked from Simple dialog. not from adv.  There it was unset so it could have had any value

It gave me some surprises  & it is interesting to see how things can go awry.
Proves how much work you put into MC & it is appreciated ;)
*
I discovered that searching with a space separating values no longer works in simple mode.  Advanced, using the form is fine.
Some nice features are appearing :D

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4271
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2016, 13:01:00 »
It worked from Simple dialog. not from adv.  There it was unset so it could have had any value
I discovered that searching with a space separating values no longer works in simple mode.  Advanced, using the form is fine.
Space where ?  Content, name matching, folder or exclude folder

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2016, 14:53:41 »
See attached jpg.
using multiple terms in simple = 'search stopped'.  Same search in advanced is OK.

I am entering values via the form in advanced.  However I just saw that if the values are input in simple then I switch to advanced ""s are added - this kills the search obviously.
« Last Edit: March 24, 2016, 14:58:34 by Ulfhednar »

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4271
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2016, 16:52:55 »
Build 2105 - Find Files

  Fixed in build 2105 (since 2098)
  * Reset button on Advanced dialog not always work (Make panel focus "blue frame" is on search panel, then it work)
  * Language and Tooltip text issues
  * Load/Save FindFiles Filter now working
  * Load From Global Filter working
  * Create Global Filter from a FindFiles filter
  * Multiple LookIn location now work (Adv and Simple dlg)
  * Multiple Exclude Folders location now work (Adv and Simple dlg)
  * Multiple LookFor Matches now work (Simple dlg, Already worked in Adv)

Known Issues
  * RegEx content matching in UTF8 files are for now match as ASCII.
  * Hex/Binary content matching not working yet
  * Search using script does not work (Custom command MC.FileSearch.Search )
« Last Edit: March 26, 2016, 12:06:27 by Mathias (Author) »

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #13 on: March 26, 2016, 15:19:52 »
Just started trying the new build.  The Find filters functionalities are a great addition. 

I have just discovered that unlike the last build, search no longer searches within txts with AI attributes, A is fine.  (regex or plain text match with 'contains' fails).

I wondered about the button on the search dialog advanced>> - this shows 'advanced' on both screens.  Should it be advanced/simple not advanced/advanced?

Will continue to play around.  Thanks for the Update Mathias.  ;)

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4271
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2016, 15:29:10 »
what do you mean with AI attribute / A ?? dont know what that means

I can't find any issues with File Content matching.

The arrows Before / After advanced are   Enter Advanced / Leave Advanced
They are the same text because I did not want to add more language texts that would need translation.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2016, 15:30:47 by Mathias (Author) »

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #15 on: March 26, 2016, 19:41:22 »
I have some txts with AI (most are A) I attach 2 screens of the properties dialog.
Looking at
http://www.2brightsparks.com/resources/articles/understanding-file-attributes.html
I assume this means non indexed contents.  I did find other reference to AI as an attribute setting on MSDN.

I see what you did with the 'advanced' button.  I thought you had it a simple/advanced previously - so I wondered.

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4271
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #16 on: March 26, 2016, 21:30:01 »
I have some txts with AI (most are A) I attach 2 screens of the properties dialog.
Looking at
http://www.2brightsparks.com/resources/articles/understanding-file-attributes.html
I assume this means non indexed contents.  I did find other reference to AI as an attribute setting on MSDN.

I see what you did with the 'advanced' button.  I thought you had it a simple/advanced previously - so I wondered.

Eh ?  No MC do not currently uses Windows Indexing.


Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #17 on: March 26, 2016, 21:53:18 »
That was the only difference I could see in the files.
MC searched the contents of these files yesterday, I updated today & now it won't....
Works fine on txt with only attribute A  :-\

***
Update
Been looking at this some more.  May have a clue to the answer.
I added the search to the saved searches.

I found that on loading the long dir name, MC has split the name over 2 lines. 
Opening form dialog (with ...) shows
C:\Users\...\AppData\Local\...\...\...\
as
C:\Users\...\AppData\Local\...\...
...\


'Correcting' this didn't alter the 0 results however.
I stripped the I attribute & it makes no difference. :-[

Can it be nested folder depth?
C:\Users\...\AppData\Local\...\...\...\*.* fails
C:\Users\...\AppData\Local\*.* works

I hope this gives you some ideas.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2016, 22:25:11 by Ulfhednar »

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4271
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #18 on: March 26, 2016, 22:14:15 »
Something else must be the different

I cant make file content matching not work

If you have a case where it does not work. please describe how to reproduce it if possible

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #19 on: March 26, 2016, 22:25:54 »
updated post above as you posted I think

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4271
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #20 on: March 27, 2016, 00:26:34 »
That was the only difference I could see in the files.
MC searched the contents of these files yesterday, I updated today & now it won't....
Works fine on txt with only attribute A  :-\

***
Update
Been looking at this some more.  May have a clue to the answer.
I added the search to the saved searches.

I found that on loading the long dir name, MC has split the name over 2 lines. 
Opening form dialog (with ...) shows
C:\Users\...\AppData\Local\...\...\...\
as
C:\Users\...\AppData\Local\...\...
...\


'Correcting' this didn't alter the 0 results however.
I stripped the I attribute & it makes no difference. :-[

Can it be nested folder depth?
C:\Users\...\AppData\Local\...\...\...\*.* fails
C:\Users\...\AppData\Local\*.* works

I hope this gives you some ideas.

It only makes a different if you have set the SubLevel option to a value that prohibit in from reaching that far down.

ehh wait 2 lines in the "..." dialog ? Then it searches multiple locations
got a space that is not around " or something in there that will break the line making it think you have multiple search path,.

« Last Edit: March 27, 2016, 00:28:49 by Mathias (Author) »

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #21 on: March 27, 2016, 12:38:01 »
Thanks for the reply Mathias.  I agree with you - that is what should be & was happening.

But in this case -
  • On clicking start the dialog blinks briefly & 'search completed!' is shown. (Less than 1/4 of a second.)
  • I was starting the search at that sub-level. The path field correctly shows the path from the selected folder.  I then saved it.
  • On closing the dialog & then reopening/loading the saved search, the saved search had split the line - I found this when I opened the form to see if it was different.  I edited out the line break but no difference, copying the path from the path bar into the '...' form didn't help.

Altering the SubLevel 0-all switch makes no difference.
I'm not using any unusual characters in the dir names I'm just starting at a 'deep' level - 6 or 7 steps down from drive root.
If I start at depth 4 the same file is read correctly....  ???

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4271
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #22 on: March 27, 2016, 14:39:50 »
Thanks for the reply Mathias.  I agree with you - that is what should be & was happening.

But in this case -
  • On clicking start the dialog blinks briefly & 'search completed!' is shown. (Less than 1/4 of a second.)
  • I was starting the search at that sub-level. The path field correctly shows the path from the selected folder.  I then saved it.
  • On closing the dialog & then reopening/loading the saved search, the saved search had split the line - I found this when I opened the form to see if it was different.  I edited out the line break but no difference, copying the path from the path bar into the '...' form didn't help.

Altering the SubLevel 0-all switch makes no difference.
I'm not using any unusual characters in the dir names I'm just starting at a 'deep' level - 6 or 7 steps down from drive root.
If I start at depth 4 the same file is read correctly....  ???

If you get multiple lines in the "..." dialog then you have a path that makes the search think you have multiple search locations.
space is an unusual character when it comes to paths, You probably got a space or ; somewhere in the path.
Next version will be more robust against paths like that. I thought that was already in that version. But I think I forgot to include it in the version that was pushed out.



Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #23 on: March 27, 2016, 21:25:27 »
Thanks for the reply Mathias.  I agree with you - that is what should be & was happening.

But in this case -
  • On clicking start the dialog blinks briefly & 'search completed!' is shown. (Less than 1/4 of a second.)
  • I was starting the search at that sub-level. The path field correctly shows the path from the selected folder.  I then saved it.
  • On closing the dialog & then reopening/loading the saved search, the saved search had split the line - I found this when I opened the form to see if it was different.  I edited out the line break but no difference, copying the path from the path bar into the '...' form didn't help.

Altering the SubLevel 0-all switch makes no difference.
I'm not using any unusual characters in the dir names I'm just starting at a 'deep' level - 6 or 7 steps down from drive root.
If I start at depth 4 the same file is read correctly....  ???

If you get multiple lines in the "..." dialog then you have a path that makes the search think you have multiple search locations.
space is an unusual character when it comes to paths, You probably got a space or ; somewhere in the path.
Next version will be more robust against paths like that. I thought that was already in that version. But I think I forgot to include it in the version that was pushed out.

Ahhhh mystery solved.  I didn't consider that.  One dir element does have a space in its name & that's the problem!  Thanks for checking this out  :)

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander 5.9.8 BETA
« Reply #24 on: March 28, 2016, 12:37:14 »
Just updated to 2110 & search is working properly & is fast again.  ;D
Thanks for all the work on this Mathias.