Author Topic: MCTAB-Files shouldn't save the focus information of the panel.  (Read 639 times)

Matthias515566

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Since which release save MC the File Focus Information tonthe MCTAB-Files? My older files don't contain such useless information.
I was scared about that after every restart the focus is on a very old file.
Please remove this new feature again.

I deleted just all focus informations from the files.

This new feature is imo useless.

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3158
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: MCTAB-Files shouldn't save the focus information of the panel.
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2017, 09:05:20 »
Around a year.. so since 6.9 maybe..
Might be useless for you.. but it was added because many people complained that it did not remember it.


AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: MCTAB-Files shouldn't save the focus information of the panel.
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2017, 10:43:23 »
Quote
This new feature is imo useless.
I find it invaluable.  I was extremely pleased when it was implemented :)
-----
Alan

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3158
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: MCTAB-Files shouldn't save the focus information of the panel.
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2017, 12:59:11 »
However, I might maybe add a settings. if this is really causing an issue..  I try not to add settings for everything, because there is already to many settings. It is a jungle of settings already

Matthias515566

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: MCTAB-Files shouldn't save the focus information of the panel.
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2017, 15:34:29 »
I find it invaluable.  I was extremely pleased when it was implemented :)
Ok, nice, but sorry, i can't understand why you need a focus on a very old file or save you the MCTAB-Files every day?

I can remove this information from the files with a text editor. Sure i save my MCTAB-Files only sometimes. Some files are only the first time saved and never again. Therefore i needed a year to find out.

However, I might maybe add a settings. if this is really causing an issue..
Sure there are much settings, but making this optionally will be nice. Maybe you can add sometimes a search engine for settings.

AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: MCTAB-Files shouldn't save the focus information of the panel.
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2017, 12:13:07 »
Quote
Ok, nice, but sorry, i can't understand why you need a focus on a very old file or save you the MCTAB-Files every day?

No.  I have a"standard" set of tabs which is my starting point when I open MC.  I have a link in my first tab to a mailbox that my programming colleagues post to all day, every day.

So I use this shortcut most often.  It saves me having to type "M" to give it focus ;)

The .mctab file is just a plain text file, so it's easy enough to delete the "ItemFocus" line, if you like.
-----
Alan

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3158
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: MCTAB-Files shouldn't save the focus information of the panel.
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2017, 14:18:45 »
The things is saving tab info when quiting or saving tab info for TabSessions are the same.
Just saved at different locations

And restarting MC (without using TabSession) lots of people want to returned to the same state as it was when it was closed.

But I will check If I can add a settings for it

Matthias515566

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Re: MCTAB-Files shouldn't save the focus information of the panel.
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2017, 08:00:25 »
Very much better will be the restoring of the last active Tab. When a new Layout (Session) loaded, always the last tabs and the right panel are active also when a Focus Information saved. Therefore i can't see any sense for this feature.

Maybe i move to the sessions, but with the sessions is nothing better than a easier saving of changes.

I tested the tab sessions again and have to say that the issue with the active tab and panel works good with the sessions. Now and i guess  i move to the sessions. Maybe the sessions can also be loaded with a bat file, i will trying to find out.

No bat file to load MC needed anymore.
I moved to the sessions.
And if focus on the first line with the arrow for parent directory it will be everytime on top.

No need to make any setup options, the MCTAB Files are obsolete.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2017, 10:02:39 by Matthias515566 »