Author Topic: Do not open alot of Tabs when starting MC  (Read 443 times)

Matthias515566

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
    • View Profile
Do not open alot of Tabs when starting MC
« on: February 12, 2018, 09:03:46 »
Always when i start MC it open alot of empty tabs. I guess its enough to load 1 tab for each panel when starting MC. It seems this have to do with the last closed MC instance. If the last closed MC Instance have only 3 tabs, MC will open 3 empty tabs on next start.

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3140
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Do not open alot of Tabs when starting MC
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2018, 09:15:59 »
I don't know why they are empty.
But if you change settings to not remember any open path.. then it will only open 1 panel in each tab

Explorer Panel Settings > Display (tab)
under the "Save on exit" section


Matthias515566

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
    • View Profile
Re: Do not open alot of Tabs when starting MC
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2018, 08:06:53 »
I don't know why they are empty.
They are not empty, but the path is most time C:\

Please watch my screenshot, there can you see my settings and how it look when MC open all this Tabs with the Path C:\

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3140
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Do not open alot of Tabs when starting MC
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2018, 16:17:03 »
You mean that the name name is "\"

That is problably becuse you set the Tab settings to show the Folder name only and on the root there is no folder

(Copy and paste to commandline field   :gosetting ExplorerPanel/layout/tab/tabnamelook  )

Matthias515566

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
    • View Profile
Re: Do not open alot of Tabs when starting MC
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2018, 18:56:02 »
No, i don't like it when MC loading so many tabs with the same folder without any reason. Not i opened all this tabs, MC do this automatically while starting and this is not good. It seems to be hard to understand my bad english, sorry.

Moving to Support and Feedback was not necessary, because it's definitely a "Feature Requests and Suggestions" Thread.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2018, 19:04:03 by Matthias515566 »

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3140
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Do not open alot of Tabs when starting MC
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2018, 19:31:54 »
Not sure what you want..

If you do not want it to remember all opened tabs then turn that off. You want it to open fixed tabs.. then use tabsession

Or you want it to analyze all the tabs you have open and not keep some of them based on what you want.. 


Matthias515566

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
    • View Profile
Re: Do not open alot of Tabs when starting MC
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2018, 00:39:22 »
If you do not want it to remember all opened tabs then turn that off.
Where can i turn this off? Sorry i was searching now for a while and can't find a "remember all opened tabs"-option.

But the solution is: Core Settings> Startup> Tab Session> Autoload the tab session marked as: Load at startup

And creating a small tab session and mark this for Load at startup with File> Tab sessions> manage> Autoload this tab session at startup
« Last Edit: February 19, 2018, 01:02:36 by Matthias515566 »

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3140
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Do not open alot of Tabs when starting MC
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2018, 12:58:26 »
Explorer Panel settings. at the bottom (almost)  "Save at exit" section

If you unclick remember open path. It will remember any of them

But I think tabsession might be better

Matthias515566

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
    • View Profile
Re: Do not open alot of Tabs when starting MC
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2018, 19:34:57 »
"Autoload this tab session at startup" works not with the Portable Version.