Author Topic: Multi Commander v8.0  (Read 5273 times)

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3244
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Multi Commander v8.0
« on: March 21, 2018, 15:49:57 »
Release v7.9 RC v8.0

I have not had so much time to spent on MC as planned and also an intern redesign took a lot longer then planed
But here are some fixed anyway

125+ Changes

** PLEASE REPORT ANY ISSUE YOU HAVE WITH NEW/LISTED THINGS HERE, SINCE I DO NOT HAVE RESOURCE TO DO MASSIVE TESTING ON ALL KIND OF SYSTEMS **



-- 2450 - (1-May-2018) - Final
 ADDED - Pressing F4 in the Overwrite dialog will change 'Append' button to a 'Resume' button
 FIXED - Changed how MultiCommand detects shutdown/restart of Windows 10. So it should no longer hang around when restarting Windows 10
 FIXED - FTP conenction will now be shown correnct in the folder tree
 CHANGE - Smart expand boxes in FolderTree only works for local harddrive. for Remote and Virtual devices it is too slow


-- 2446 - (26-Apr-2018) - RC
 ADDED - FolderTree now support rename
 FIXED - FolderTree failed to expand virtual device in the tree correct
 FIXED - Overwrite options was reset if unpacker copy plugin was used with zip archives, and if there was multiple zip files.

-- 2444 - (22-Apr-2018)
 ADDED - CustomCommand MC.Explorer.Copy/Move now support SKIPEMPTYFOLDERS
 ADDED - CustomCommand MC.Explorer.Copy/Move Now support overwrite options OVERWRITE_IFNEWER / OVERWRITE_IFSIZEDIFF / OVERWRITE_IFSIZELARGER /
                                                           OVERWRITE_IFSIZESMALLER / OVERWRITE_AUTORENAME_EXISTING / OVERWRITE_AUTORENAME_NEW
 ADDED - MultiScipt CopyFile/MoveFile function now support OVERWRITE_IFNEWER / OVERWRITE_IFSIZEDIFF / OVERWRITE_IFSIZELARGER /
                                                           OVERWRITE_IFSIZESMALLER / OVERWRITE_AUTORENAME_EXISTING / OVERWRITE_AUTORENAME_NEW
 FIXED - Issue with single instace and show tray icon
 FIXED - Issue with minimize to tray icon and but Keep taskbar icon setting
 FIXED - New 7Zip SDK broke FS7Zip so password protected archive fail to open. Now works again

-- 2442 - (19-Apr-2018)
ADDED - Copy/Move option to skip copy or move of empty folders
         (Moving on same drive with this option will be slower, since optimized move cant be used)
FIXED - Misc uncommon issues with copy overwrite options.
FIXED - AlreadyExistsDialog , Overwrite option now works for Portable device (WPD)

-- Build 2437 - (2-Apr-2018)
ADDED - AlreadyExistsDialog shown for virtual filesystems like archive (zip,7zip) will now use preprocessing of overwrite state.
ADDED - FS7Zip extension is now build using 7Zip SDK 18.01
ADDED - Core Settings to start MultiCommnder minimized
ADDED - Added Command line settings /MINIMIZED to force MultiCommander to start minimized
ADDED - FolderTree can now show smart expand boxes, That only show the [ + ] expand box if folder have subfolders.
         (However it can cause performance issuse since it must scan all folders, Enable settings in Explorer Panel Settings)
FIXED - selecting AlreadyExistsDialog Append/Rename for single file in dialog now works.
FIXED - new AlreadyExists dialog now works with drag/drop of Stream data (eg Office Outlook)
FIXED - 1 Stability issue reported by crash report system

-- Build 2430 - (21-Mar-2018)
ADDED - MultiScript function to work with tabs. (TabActivePanelSide/TabActiveTab/TabCount/TabGetPath/TabLoadTabSession)
ADDED - Option to turn thumbnail on/off in AlreadyExistsDialog
ADDED - Overwrite both works for files copied to/from normal file system
CHANGE- Major internal change for handling of options of overwrite of files.
FIXED - FSRAR,7Zip, FSZip, FSBZip2 now support now file overwrite options better
FIXED - 2 Stability issue reported by crash report system


MultiScript functions
Code: [Select]
<1/2> TabActivePanelSide(); // 1 left / top , 2, right / bottom
TabActivePanelSide(<int/string> side );
<int> TabActiveTab( <int/string> side);  // return tab in panel that is active
 TabActiveTab( <int/string> side, int tabIdx );  // set tab in panel side as active
<int> TabCount(  <int/string> side ); // return the number of tab a panel side have
<string> TabGetPath(  <int/string> side, int tabIdx); // return the path of a tab IF that tab has a explorer panel, else empty string is returned
TabLoadTabSession( <string> nameOrID ); // load tab session

When providing side parameter it can be    1 = Left, 2 = Right , "right", "left", "top", "bottom", "target", "source" , "active" "inactive"
However. Be aware that this functions will require the UI to update, and while the script it running the UI will not update.
This is because the script is running on the same thread. So This function should be used with care. Depending on what you do after running this command. Some other command might fail. or not work as expected.


** Know issue **
 - SkipEmptyFolder do not work for ALL kind of extended volumes.  some FTP location support it some not.
   And when unpacking from archives it is only support for some archives. and only when unpacking using Copy method. not Unpack

« Last Edit: May 01, 2018, 12:33:37 by Mathias (Author) »

AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 238
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2018, 14:56:34 »
Looking promising, Mathias.

But could you list the arguments and return values for the new MultiScript function to work with tabs, please?
-----
Alan

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3244
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2018, 18:37:53 »
Looking promising, Mathias.

But could you list the arguments and return values for the new MultiScript function to work with tabs, please?
Yes it is coming..

AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 238
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2018, 19:30:05 »
I have been patient...  and it has come :)  (English saying: "Everything comes to he who waits " ;) )

Many thanks.  I'll start testing.
-----
Alan

Matthias515566

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2018, 10:22:10 »
how about tell us here when a final version released? Last time i have often not realized that the final already released and worked with the beta. :)

AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 238
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2018, 16:05:32 »
Quote
<1/2> TabActivePanelSide(); // 1 left / top , 2, right / bottom
TabActivePanelSide(<int/string> side );
<int> TabActiveTab( <int/string> side);  // return tab in panel that is active
 TabActiveTab( <int/string> side, int tabIdx );  // set tab in panel side as active
<int> TabCount(  <int/string> side ); // return the number of tab a panel side have
<string> TabGetPath(  <int/string> side, int tabIdx); // return the path of a tab IF that tab has a explorer panel, else empty string is returned
TabLoadTabSession( <string> nameOrID ); // load tab session

Hi Mathias: some issues...

I am unclear as to what "TabActivePanelSide()" returns/does.

"TabActiveTab" is listed twice (once with 1 argument and once with 2).
-----
Alan

Jungle

  • Contributor
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
  • Old Skull
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2018, 16:59:57 »
Please update 7-zip lib to current version (18.01 at the moment)
Windows XP Pro SP3 Rus / Windows 7 x64 Ent Rus | MC v7.1.0 b2347 Portable

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3244
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2018, 17:19:29 »
Please update 7-zip lib to current version (18.01 at the moment)
It is actually on the list. However it is a bit of PITA since some API was changed..

AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 238
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2018, 19:09:55 »
I cannot get
Quote
TabActiveTab( <int/string> side, int tabIdx );
to do anything at all  :-\

Could you give an example, please?
« Last Edit: March 24, 2018, 19:15:22 by AlanJB »
-----
Alan

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3244
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2018, 12:39:02 »
I cannot get
Quote
TabActiveTab( <int/string> side, int tabIdx );
to do anything at all  :-\

Could you give an example, please?

side parameter can be  1 = Left, 2 = Right , "right", "left", "top", "bottom", "target", "source" , "active" "inactive"
idx is the index position of a tab. starting at 0,  0 ,1,2,3 and so n

Code: [Select]
TabActiveTab( "left" , 1);

AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 238
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2018, 13:19:24 »
Thanks Mathias.  Tried that; no result at all :(

My confusion is caused by these 2 lines in your post of March 21st:
Quote
<int> TabActiveTab( <int/string> side);  // return tab in panel that is active
 TabActiveTab( <int/string> side, int tabIdx );  // set tab in panel side as active
The 1st shows TabActiveTab( ) taking 1 argument and returning an <int>: this works as expected.

The 2nd shows TabActiveTab( ) taking 2 arguments and returning <what?>: this seems to do nothing.
For example, I woud expect TabActiveTab( 1,2 ); to set the 3rd tab in the left panel as active.

What am I missing?
-----
Alan

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3244
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2018, 15:36:26 »
yes with only 1 parameter (side) it return what index is active

AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 238
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2018, 17:16:17 »
Sorry to seem stupid, Mathias, but with only 1 parameter (side) it works exactly as expected, but
Quote
...I would expect TabActiveTab( 1,2 ); to set the 3rd tab in the left panel as active.

does not set the 3rd tab in the left panel as active.  Nothing happens at all  :-\
-----
Alan

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3244
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2018, 17:51:30 »
Sorry to seem stupid, Mathias, but with only 1 parameter (side) it works exactly as expected, but
Quote
...I would expect TabActiveTab( 1,2 ); to set the 3rd tab in the left panel as active.

does not set the 3rd tab in the left panel as active.  Nothing happens at all  :-\
Strange, works for me.
Hmm Might be that it was broken before. I done some other changes around there that might have fixed it. not sure

« Last Edit: March 25, 2018, 17:58:31 by Mathias (Author) »

AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 238
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2018, 19:16:11 »
Thanks for all the replies ;)

I'll retest after the next beta release.  I can use these functions for lots of UDCs!
-----
Alan

Jungle

  • Contributor
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
  • Old Skull
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #15 on: March 27, 2018, 18:30:40 »
Issue with password protected 7-zip archives: if archive was created with "Encrypt file names" option, MC asks password 3 times while unpacking.
Windows XP Pro SP3 Rus / Windows 7 x64 Ent Rus | MC v7.1.0 b2347 Portable

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3244
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #16 on: March 28, 2018, 07:11:11 »
Issue with password protected 7-zip archives: if archive was created with "Encrypt file names" option, MC asks password 3 times while unpacking.
Yes I know.. but it is not that easy fix. problem is that 7zip api does not work well with the plugin architecture, But I got it on my list.. I will take a look again
« Last Edit: March 28, 2018, 07:13:23 by Mathias (Author) »

AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 238
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #17 on: April 03, 2018, 14:19:17 »
Hi Mathias.

All MultiScript Tab... functions working as expected in Build 2437 :)

Well done and thanks !
-----
Alan

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3244
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander v7.9 BETA
« Reply #18 on: April 22, 2018, 15:34:47 »
If there are any minor bug or minor features (like functions for script) anyone would like to have added to the next version.. Ask me now. I will soon push out this as final none beta version