Author Topic: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...  (Read 11543 times)

EagleBrewing

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« on: May 14, 2019, 18:48:48 »
Hello ...
There are just too many posts on thumbnails and with a variety of resolutions.
I have not found anything to help me.
My OLD laptop with Win10 displays the thumbnails properly in MC.
I can scale and view.
My NEW laptop with a NEW version of Win10 does not display the thumbnails.
I have rebooted laptop and restarted MC.
I have tried the view menu (changing to detail and back to thumbnails).
I have read in several posts that MC gets the thumbnails from Win10.
So ...
Something strange with my Win10?
If you need more info to help, let me know what to supply.
I am using MC 64bit Edition.  I believe the latest version.
I really want to stay with MC for my work.
Thanks for listening ...
Bob   8)

EagleBrewing

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2019, 19:00:50 »
I meant to add, thumbnails work just fine in Win10 Explorer.

EagleBrewing

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2019, 05:27:22 »
Hello ...

Does anyone have any ideas what I might try?
I uninstalled and reinstalled MC.
No change.
I must be doing something wrong.
Thanks
Bob

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 443
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2019, 14:25:04 »
Recent Win10 updates have broken some things in MC.
This might be one of those things.
I tend to stick to details view 90% of the time but IIRC I had a thumbnail issue a little while ago.
Using MC 8.9 b2520 beta x64, thumbnails work & this Win10 is fully updated.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2019, 14:30:43 by Ulfhednar »

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3556
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2019, 15:08:50 »
Hello ...
There are just too many posts on thumbnails and with a variety of resolutions.
I have not found anything to help me.
My OLD laptop with Win10 displays the thumbnails properly in MC.
I can scale and view.
My NEW laptop with a NEW version of Win10 does not display the thumbnails.
I have rebooted laptop and restarted MC.
I have tried the view menu (changing to detail and back to thumbnails).
I have read in several posts that MC gets the thumbnails from Win10.
So ...
Something strange with my Win10?
If you need more info to help, let me know what to supply.
I am using MC 64bit Edition.  I believe the latest version.
I really want to stay with MC for my work.
Thanks for listening ...
Bob   8)

I can't recreate this,  Is there any error in the app or filesystem log ? (Ctrl+L)

Also in Core Settings in the file system tab at the botton you can change some Thumbnail settings.
What settings do you have there


EagleBrewing

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2019, 04:26:17 »
Sorry, I've been gone for a while.
This is what I get in the log ...

2019-06-19 19:15:44.810 Failed to get Windows Thumbnail by shell item (Error : 0x8000ffff)

Looks like one error message for each thumbnail in the folder.
Also, I have attached what is in core settings.
Thanks for checking into this ...
Bob

EagleBrewing

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2019, 03:17:54 »
Hello ...
Anyone else having this problem?
It has been 2 months since I posted my initial posting.
I need to see the thumbnails.
I might have to try some other software and close this post.
Sure like using MC though.
Thanks for listening.
Bob

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3556
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2019, 00:59:30 »
I have not had seen any issue with this. the Error 0x8000ffff is from windows that is had problem getting the thumbnail.. So there is nothing MC can do, It is out of the control of MC.
You are not running the 32bit version of MC on 64bit OS? I know some shell extension have issues with

I do not know why it does not work on you machine. There is some conflict, But I can say what.

You can in Thumbnail settings change to use Internal Thumbnail engine instead. However you will not get thumbnail on as much.

EagleBrewing

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2019, 01:49:37 »
Thanks for checking it out.
I am running the 64bit version of MC.
Life goes on.
I know it used to work.  Maybe I'll stumble across something down the road.
Thanks again ...
Bob

AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2019, 19:16:11 »
Hi Bob.

Have you tried running SFC to see if it lists any problems?

Are you, by any chance, using ACDSee image viewer?

EagleBrewing

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2019, 19:35:23 »
Thanks for checking in ...

No on ACDSee.
Refresh my memory on SFC. 
What do I do?
I'm an old fart and have CRS!
Bob

AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2019, 13:15:09 »
From one old fart to another...

Run the following 3 lines exactly from a cmd prompt (wait for each one to finish before typing the next):
Code: [Select]
sfc.exe /scannow
findstr /c:"[SR]" %windir%\logs\cbs\cbs.log > "C:\sfcdetails.txt"
start "" /MAX "C:\sfcdetails.txt"

Check the output for any errors or repairs that were necessary.

Reboot & see if anything has changed (for the better!).

HTH

EagleBrewing

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #12 on: July 17, 2019, 02:43:03 »
OK, I ran the first command.
I get many many pages of log.
None of it means anything t0 me.

I uninstalled MC completely.
Reinstalled a generic version (without my config file).
Thumbnails are still not showing up.
They show up in Windows Explorer.
Somewhere I thought I read the Windows might not be handling the thumbnails properly.
I think ....
Oh well, it will be OK.
Bob

Anti-Bacterial

  • Contributor
  • Junior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2019, 03:50:18 »
You could try this - it won't hurt as the thumbnail cache will simply rebuild itself as you browse files.  Might be worth a try.

Windows 10 thumbnails all messed up? Here's how to fix it!
https://www.windowscentral.com/how-reset-thumbnail-cache-windows-10

Another reason may be you do not have write permissions to the cache files in this folder: 
%LocalAppData%\Microsoft\Windows\Explorer\thumbcache_*.db

Note: explorer hides this folder/files by default. You may have to adjust your explorer settings to view hidden files.
My suspicion is Windows cannot update your thumbnail caches at this location (folder/file access permissions), and is using the existing cache. Running DiskCleanup as described in the article should fix this by clearing and rebuilding the cache.

If the above options do not resolve your issue, you can try changing the MC settings to manage internal thumbnails instead of Windows as Mathias suggested above.

Failing that I think you might have some file/registry reference corruption.

Hope this helps you! Lettuce snow  :)

Cheers 🤞
IT professional and technology enthusiast 💻⚙⚡

AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #14 on: July 18, 2019, 13:10:03 »
Quote
You could try this - it won't hurt as the thumbnail cache will simply rebuild itself as you browse files.  Might be worth a try.

Good catch @Anti-Bacterial: I should have thought of that (but then I am very old  ;))

EagleBrewing

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #15 on: July 22, 2019, 04:16:00 »
OK here goes ...
I ran CCleaner and ran the Register cleanup.
Still no thumbnails showing.
I did all the things suggested by Anti-Bacterial.
Including Windows Central suggestions.
Not working.
I'm not sure how to check permissions.
As far as I can tell, I am running Administrator.
I can install programs and run updates, etc.

What do I do with this statement?
%LocalAppData%\Microsoft\Windows\Explorer\thumbcache_*.db

I tried all the internal thumbnail settings in Core Settings per Matthias.
Not working.
I appreciate all the help in this matter.
I'll probably just let it ride for a while.
Use Irfanview or something like that to work with photos.
Thanks ...
Bob

Anti-Bacterial

  • Contributor
  • Junior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #16 on: July 22, 2019, 19:12:32 »
Hi Bob,

Sorry this has not been resolved for you. It is perplexing, but don't give up yet!

Did you run the SFC (system file check) instructions as posted by AlanJB?  Why don't you upload the text file output of that command so we can take a look at it:   C:\sfcdetails.txt


AB

IT professional and technology enthusiast 💻⚙⚡

EagleBrewing

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #17 on: July 22, 2019, 22:55:41 »
Anti-Bacterial ...

OK, I ran sfc again.

I got this cmd message ...
Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of them.
For online repairs, details are included in the CBS log file located at
windir\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. For example C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. For offline
repairs, details are included in the log file provided by the /OFFLOGFILE flag.

So ....
I looked at the log.
There are 25180 lines in the log!
Huge!
I'm sure I can't attach that to this post.
Anything I can look for to copy and paste?
Any part that you might want to look at?
Please advise and thanks ...
Bob

AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #18 on: July 23, 2019, 10:35:05 »
Bob,

if you run the first and second commands I posted, you will end up with a file at C:\sfcdetails.txt which is a filtered CBS Log with only the relevant lines from SFC.

This will be small enough to attach to a reply here.

EagleBrewing

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #19 on: July 23, 2019, 19:38:22 »
OK, here is that file.
I hope it helps us out.
Thanks for the help ...
Bob

AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #20 on: July 24, 2019, 11:35:16 »
Hi Bob.

Looks like you had at least one Windows Update fail at some point (and the backup store is corrupt, so cannot be repaired).

When you ran Disk Cleanup (as suggested by @Anti-Bacterial) did you make sure that both Thumbnails and Windows Update Cleanup were checked?  If not, please run it again with (at least) those two options checked & reboot afterwards.

After a reboot, please check for windows updates and apply any that are found.  Reboot afterwards.

Check your thumbnail issue and let us know how you get on.

EagleBrewing

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #21 on: July 24, 2019, 17:14:22 »
OK, I did this again.
Still no go ...

I could not see or find Windows Update Cleanup in disk cleanup.
Thumbnails was ticked off.
Ran the disk clean up.
All is good.
Rebooted.
Checked for updates.
Windows is current in updates.
Rebooted.
I looked at update history.
There was one update that didn't take.
18946.1000.rs_xbox_dev.190723-1700 (UUP-CTv2)
Failed to install on ‎7/‎24/‎2019 - 0x80240034
I don't have Xbox, so not sure if this is important.

Thumbnails in MC still not working.
My biggest fear is that I am doing something incredibly stupid!
We can put this to rest. 
I'll just live with it. 
I have other ways to look at thumbnails.
Just like to use MC for everything.

I appreciate the help.
If you guys have a buy a coffee or beer button, let me know.
Thanks
Bob

AlanJB

  • Power Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #22 on: July 24, 2019, 17:45:55 »
Bugger  :(

If you're game, I have one last thing to try (if you're not - I understand - you've been very patient).

Step 1: create a restore point with a meaningful name (important)
Step 2: open a command prompt as Administrator
Step 3: run the following command:   DISM /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth
        Wait for it to finish. It may take several minutes (even appearing to hang), but it will finish.
        If it finds any corruption, it will contact the Microsoft servers and install anything it needs to
Step 4: Reboot and re-test.

If anything goes wrong - very unlikely - recover from your restore point.

This is my last shot, so good luck!

EagleBrewing

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #23 on: July 24, 2019, 17:49:19 »
Thanks, will try later today.
Your opinion?
Windows or MC issue?
Bob

Anti-Bacterial

  • Contributor
  • Junior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Another thumbnail post ... sorry ...
« Reply #24 on: July 24, 2019, 20:25:31 »
Bob -
I am convinced your issue is a Windows corruption problem (not MC), since the log indicates same.  This may be due to a variety of reasons: disk corruption, malware, etc.   

Very good suggestions from AlanJB! Thanks Alan for referencing the DISM tool.

DISM.exe (Deployment Image Servicing and Management) is a powerful admin tool provided by Microsoft and bundled with Windows. DISM can fix Windows component store corruption when a sfc /scannow command is unable to repair corrupted or modified system files because the component store (source) itself is corrupted. SFC should be able to repair the files afterwards.  It is advisable to make backups of your critical data before starting. Be patient as the analysis/repairs may be quite time consuming. Make sure you're running on AC power (not batteries) and DO NOT interrupt the process once it begins!

More details re: the DISM tool (with screenshots) here:
From the article:
Quote
Usually, when your device is experiencing performance issues, doesn't start correctly, or you're dealing with unexpected errors, you can use the System File Checker command tool to scan, detect, and replace any corrupted or missing system files using the recovery image. The problem is that if SFC can't fix the issue, it's likely because it can't retrieve the replacement files from the Windows 10 image as a result of corruption or other errors. In this particular case, you can use DISM to scan and repair the image, which you can use with SFC to repair your actual installation. In this Windows 10 guide, we'll walk you through the steps to use the DISM command tool with Command Prompt to bring your device back to a healthy system state.


Bookmark these links for reference. Use DISM to correct the problem. These steps should fix your issue. 
Good luck!
AB
« Last Edit: July 24, 2019, 20:30:36 by Anti-Bacterial »
IT professional and technology enthusiast 💻⚙⚡