Author Topic: Drag & Drop in Search results. UI tweaks  (Read 6400 times)

quarx

• View Profile
Drag & Drop in Search results. UI tweaks
« on: July 15, 2020, 00:37:57 »
Hi there,

Firstly, I would like to congratulate you, I've recently re-discovered Multi Commander and I like it a lot! (in the past I used NC, Dos Navigator, MC, Far, and Total Commander so I have some experience with similar tools).

That being said I am a creature of habit. I spent the last decade (on and off) with Total Commander and MC so I am wondering if you could consider the following adjustments that would make my life easier:

A. Currently, it is not possible to drag files from the search result list and drop them onto another window. It is possible from normal explorer panels and it is possible to right-click a file and open it in a program, or just double click the file to open it with the default application. However, drag&drop is not possible (I'm guessing that's because the folder and the file name are in separate columns which was also a bit annoying because I tried multiple times to copy the full path to the file I found and I couldn't do it easily). This is something I do on a regular basis, multiple times a week, so it is a bit of a hassle for me.

B. As you can easily tell from the attached screenshot, I like the simplicity of the UI in TC so I already adjusted my Multi Commander a bit towards this direction (e.g. a command bar at the bottom is a must for me... otherwise I feel irked. I know it's irrational but I spent more than 20 years with programs that place this bar at the bottom), but I wish there were more options. Please take a look at the picture, and here are my corresponding comments:

1.  I'd prefer to remove most of the buttons I don't use and I would never use a button to close the tab. I always use CTRL-W so this button is just cluttering UI for me.