Author Topic: Problem with the renaming tool  (Read 3628 times)

TDKGuy

• View Profile
Problem with the renaming tool
« on: September 18, 2022, 14:08:54 »
Hello,

I'm brand new to this software so forgive me if I'm doing something stupid or obvious. I am trying to use the renaming tool (Capitalize Aa Aaa.aaa) and it seems to work fine, as all the files in the Multicommander window show as being properly capitalized after the operation is run, but when I look at the files in my windows file explorer, no changes have actually been made. If I press refresh in the Multicommander window the files revert back to their original states there as well. Am I doing something wrong? Is there a finalize command that I am possibly missing? This is driving me insane. Can anyone offer any suggestions?

Many thanks, in advance,

- TDKGuy

Mathias (Author)

• Administrator
  • VIP Member
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Problem with the renaming tool
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2022, 14:36:22 »
That is strange. I'm not able to reproduce that

What OS is that on? I know that XP had issue when renaming files when only changing upper case and lower case, since the file system is not case sensitive it did not fell that it as a change and did not actually change the name even if they file system function said the rename was successful.
Or is it remote network device ?
what filesystem NTFS ? FAT32 ?

Do you have the issue on all devices or just some devices ?

TDKGuy

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2022, 14:43:30 »
Hi,