Author Topic: Assign CTRL+D to go to user's Desktop  (Read 8645 times)

mista

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Assign CTRL+D to go to user's Desktop
« on: March 10, 2013, 22:24:03 »
I am trying to assign the key-combination CTRL+D to go to the user's Desktop.

My effort so far:


It works if I press CTRL + the button, but how do I get it to assign to the CTRL+D key combination??

Thanks for your suggestions!

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4283
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Assign CTRL+D to go to user's Desktop
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2013, 22:51:57 »
Do not create the command directly on the button. But create a User Defined Command. THEN you can assign that command to different things like HotKeys, Menu , Buttons. and more.



mista

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Assign CTRL+D to go to user's Desktop
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2013, 23:43:41 »
Hi Mathias,

Thanks. Just the sheer number of features your program has is stunning!
I got it to work for, don't know if it is the right way but I post it here so maybe someone else can benefit from it or build from here.

First create the user command. Menu-> Configuration-> User Defined Commands.
By using %USERPROFILE% this should work for everybody/all logged in users (Default Values on Microsoft Windows, see Wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Environment_variable#Windows_PowerShell)
I don't know for sure, but I suspect the "\Desktop" part will cause problems if your Windows version is another language and this is called differently.

It will notify you if the desired Hotkey is already taken and will cause a conflict. I (re)choose CTRL+Q which was free to use.

Cheers!

Then set it up to a Hotkey:


Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4283
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Assign CTRL+D to go to user's Desktop
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2013, 06:47:00 »
Commandline commands will expand enviroment variables when run. That why %USERPROFILE% works

There actually is a special commandline command to go to the desktop ":desk"

So you can do

Code: [Select]
MC.CmdLineRun CMD=":desk"
That should work for all languages..



mista

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Assign CTRL+D to go to user's Desktop
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2013, 22:27:29 »
Hi Mathias,

I will change it into your solution, thanks!