News:

MultiCommander v16.6 is released!

Main Menu

Clear usage history

Started by sl23, March 14, 2015, 20:20:32

Previous topic - Next topic

sl23

Does Mc clear history on close? Is there a way to do this if Mc doesn't do it automatically?

As I've already said,  my file manager needs are quite simple compared to many users here, but Mc has so far really impressed me and have to say you've done a great job Matthias.

Mathias (Author)

Menu > Help > Clear User Data

sl23

Thanks for the quick reply.

That sounds like it clears all User Data,  like settings, layout,  etc? Is that just for history? Such as browsing history,  or search history for instance?

Mathias (Author)

You select in the dialog that pops up

sl23

#4
Ok I just tried it and it strangely bought back the standard toolbar? Is that because that 'setting' to hide that toolbar is part of a Session?

I also lost Tabs due to being part of a Session, perhaps History and Session deletion should be seperate? In fact, wouldn't it be better to have each item as a list with check boxes? that way you could choose individually which requires deleting rather than picking a group and having to delete something you don't want to.

Mathias (Author)

Quote from: sl23 on March 15, 2015, 12:09:58
Ok I just tried it and it strangely bought back the standard toolbar? Is that because that 'setting' to hide that toolbar is part of a Session?
It is because you did not disable the toolbar, You only hide it.
You disable it in settings. You can hide it temporary from the menu

Quote from: sl23 on March 15, 2015, 12:09:58
I also lost Tabs due to being part of a Session, perhaps History and Session deletion should be seperate? In fact, wouldn't it be better to have each item as a list with check boxes? that way you could choose individually which requires deleting rather than picking a group and having to delete something you don't want to.
No. Most people who want to delete stuff like this want it all gone.
Else you can delete selected data your self.. Just create a script that clear it out.
Or run in portable mode all session and history data is stored in the portable folder and not under the user account.

sl23

Ok fair enough. After looking at the portable folders, I see there's one for History and the .ini files contain settings for Session so I presume the two are interlinked making it difficult to delete one without the other? I would like to just clear browsing history alone, can that be done easily?

Thanks

Mathias (Author)

The files in History are for historic data.

sl23

Yes but they aren't just for the browsing history, but the entire history, there's no segregation is there?

Mathias (Author)

All kind of historic data is stored there.  Every plugin/extension have there own file there