Author Topic: Multi Commander stopped working on start  (Read 461 times)

gabor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Multi Commander stopped working on start
« on: September 21, 2018, 15:09:33 »
Multi Commander stopped working on start. If I disable check for new version on start it works but I want to deploy to machines silently so I looking for a better solution.
Probably it fails because we use internet proxy so MC has no direct internet access.

C:\Program Files\MultiCommander (x64)\Config\MultiCommander.xml
    <checkfornewversion value="0"/>


Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3247
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander stopped working on start
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2018, 07:30:13 »
Hmm strange. I can't reproduce that.
Using proxy should work, It picks up the proxy settings from where it is configured in internet settings

You can start with parameter /NOUPDATECHECK it will also skip that.

You can deply the Portable vesion and edit the default config file so that update check is off



gabor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Multi Commander stopped working on start
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2018, 00:02:54 »
Probably proxy authentication cause the problem. How could I help you to reproduce? Do you want a video? NOUPDATECHECK is a workaround but HELP/CHECK UPDATE cause the same.
I use the installer and replace the config file immediately.

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • Elite Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3247
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Multi Commander stopped working on start
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2018, 14:32:12 »
So people still use proxy. Hmm Okey.  It might be that.
Problem is that all proxy handling is handled by windows. I do not handle it my self inside MC, I use existing functions in Windows for that.
I can't really fix it unless I can recreate it. So a video is to no use.
And since it can't talk to the net, It can't even send a crash reprot to my system. So I do not have that to go on.

I will add it to my list to check,

If you start the MultiUpdate , does it also crash if it checks for new version? it is using similar ways to talk to internet