Author Topic: Copy operation time "Time elapsed" shows wrong value  (Read 492 times)

Timur Born

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Copy operation time "Time elapsed" shows wrong value
« on: July 07, 2022, 18:49:25 »
Hello.

When I copy a 3.5 gb network folder to my local drive in 2:20 min then MC's "Time elapsed" shows 0:45 min at the end.

Furthermore I noticed that the copy operation slows down when "Show Queue" is used.

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4033
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Copy operation time "Time elapsed" shows wrong value
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2022, 20:57:18 »
If you are coping massive amount of small files and show the queue.. Then a lot of CPU time will be used to update the UI.
And if you copy lots of small files the OS will spend a lot of extra time on other things



Timur Born

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Copy operation time "Time elapsed" shows wrong value
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2022, 21:24:48 »
Yes, makes sense.

About the "Time elapsed" thing, though? It's not an important information, but if it is so much off the real numbers then it kind of hurts more than it helps.

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4033
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Copy operation time "Time elapsed" shows wrong value
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2022, 22:37:10 »
Yes, makes sense.

About the "Time elapsed" thing, though? It's not an important information, but if it is so much off the real numbers then it kind of hurts more than it helps.
Not sure, Have not notice any issue with that

Timur Born

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Copy operation time "Time elapsed" shows wrong value
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2022, 23:01:09 »
Here is an animated GIF demonstrating the issue: