Author Topic: Sub-Menu is removed when one its User Defined Command is deleted - Fixed  (Read 20714 times)

AriesTruong

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Hi Mathias,

This is steps:
1. Create new 3 user defined commands: Command_1, Command_2, Command_3
2. Create new Root "Security" Menu
3. Create new sub menu in "Sub-Security" menu
4. Add 3 commands from step 1 into "Sub-Security" menu as below:
  • Security Menu
    • Sub-Security Sub-Menu
      • Command_1
      • Command_2
      • Command_3

5. Restart MC to make sure everything work OK with sub menu and added commands
6. Open "User Defined Command" dialog to delete 1 in 3 commands and close dialog:
    Example: delete Command_2 and save then close dialog.
7. Click "Security" menu

As observation: Whole "Sub-Security" menu is removed out "Security" menu.

Workaround for this issue: Open file "UserMenu.xml" and delete menu item. Then open "User Defined Command" dialog to delete.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2019, 11:12:35 by AriesTruong »
Life changes when we change

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3846
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Sub-Menu is removed when one its User Defined Command is deleted.
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2019, 10:16:11 »
I can't reproduce that. If I delete a command it is still shown but is disabled in the menu.
However there is an issue when going to the menu customization window.  that cause that window to crash.

But I don't get any submenus to go missing

AriesTruong

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: Sub-Menu is removed when one its User Defined Command is deleted.
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2019, 13:40:06 »
You meant you assign new command to sub-menu? I also see  disabled item if i assign command to 2 submenu of 2 menu then command is disabled in 1 submenu and another submenu is removed out menu.

To reproduce, you should create new structures menu as i added in post 1.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2019, 16:29:43 by AriesTruong »
Life changes when we change

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3846
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Sub-Menu is removed when one its User Defined Command is deleted.
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2019, 14:14:16 »
I did

created menu with submenu with commands


 Menu
   > SubMenu  -> Command1
                          Command2
                          Command3

AriesTruong

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
« Last Edit: August 28, 2019, 16:08:40 by AriesTruong »
Life changes when we change

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3846
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Sub-Menu is removed when one its User Defined Command is deleted.
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2019, 08:38:16 »
Yes that was what I did.
I do not get it to fail.
I fix the other crash related to this. Might be that it also fixes you issue. Was a kind of memory issue. so it can act different on different system.


AriesTruong

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: Sub-Menu is removed when one its User Defined Command is deleted.
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2019, 09:48:21 »
Yes that was what I did.
I do not get it to fail.
I fix the other crash related to this. Might be that it also fixes you issue. Was a kind of memory issue. so it can act different on different system.


It's strange because I hit this issue on PC at office and at home. Anyway I will check later when you release next beta
Note: I use MC as Portable so it has the same setting.
Life changes when we change

nathan_never

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Sub-Menu is removed when one its User Defined Command is deleted.
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2019, 10:41:49 »
This seems to be similar to a bug I reported long back. I never followed it up because I wasn't using the feature much and also the author couldn't replicate it.
Here's the link http://forum.multicommander.com/forum/index.php/topic,1530.msg5526.html#msg5526 (the first bullet point)

Jungle

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 466
  • Old Skull
    • View Profile
Re: Sub-Menu is removed when one its User Defined Command is deleted.
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2019, 13:51:36 »
Confirm. The issue exists.

===

There's also issue with [Copy] button in the User defined commands dialog. When I press [Copy] new command is created, but some fields are shown empty. E.g. if source command is "Internal command" then copy will show empty fields "Module" and "Command". If source is "Custom commands" then copy will show empty "Command". In fact they are not empty and after saving will be shown correctly, but it's a bit confusing.

AriesTruong

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: Sub-Menu is removed when one its User Defined Command is deleted.
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2019, 16:09:56 »
Hi Mathias,

There are some fan also hit this issue so i re-create video for detail from step create new command.
Please check video again
https://drive.google.com/file/d/17HAOt1EU8_8VsJhdEoHwB4hMTR57j4zC/view?usp=sharing
Life changes when we change

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3846
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Sub-Menu is removed when one its User Defined Command is deleted.
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2019, 21:10:16 »
I cant recreate it, The removed item just becomes a disabled menu items for me.
But as I said I think it is related to the other issue I fixed so check again after next beta

AriesTruong

  • Active Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: Sub-Menu is removed when one its User Defined Command is deleted.
« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2019, 11:12:02 »
This issue is fixed in v9.1 beta b2552
Life changes when we change