Author Topic: v11.0 - Release Candidate (Updated 18-Feb)  (Read 4186 times)

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3795
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: v11.0 - Release Candidate (Updated 13-Feb)
« Reply #25 on: February 15, 2021, 16:28:39 »
Hi,

In last version of MC - RC build 2765 extensions don't work.
I've upgraded and then do fresh instalation and I've got the same problem in both cases. Switching to admin rights do not help.
Cant recreate that. Is there any errors in MultiUpdate_log.txt
Also check Menu> Config > Extension  dialog and check the Interface version. must be that some of extension failed to be replaced
« Last Edit: February 15, 2021, 16:56:46 by Mathias (Author) »

Lukasz S.

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: v11.0 - Release Candidate (Updated 13-Feb)
« Reply #26 on: February 15, 2021, 17:39:10 »
Hi

This is the situation in Extension Manager.
In MultiUpdate_log.txt file I have only 32 rows and no errors.
Polish translator
Lukasz S.

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3795
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: v11.0 - Release Candidate (Updated 13-Feb)
« Reply #27 on: February 15, 2021, 17:53:35 »
Hi

This is the situation in Extension Manager.
In MultiUpdate_log.txt file I have only 32 rows and no errors.
And it show that it copy the files ?

I don't know why it failed for you. I cant reproduce that.

Lukasz S.

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: v11.0 - Release Candidate (Updated 13-Feb)
« Reply #28 on: February 15, 2021, 18:41:26 »
Here you have log file.
I see that all extensions are in instalation folder.
Polish translator
Lukasz S.

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3795
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: v11.0 - Release Candidate (Updated 13-Feb)
« Reply #29 on: February 15, 2021, 19:30:03 »
Here you have log file.
I see that all extensions are in instalation folder.

Very stange.. Something gone wrong and it did not update any files except the .exe
try to do a force upgrade
Start MultiUpdate.exe  in setting enable "force update even if no new version is found"
then start the update process.. it should redownload it and try to replace all files.
(Also enable the show extended information checkbox below the Start button)


Lukasz S.

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: v11.0 - Release Candidate (Updated 13-Feb)
« Reply #30 on: February 15, 2021, 20:02:38 »
Did it few times with no success (forced few times) - even fresh instalation with deleted all files, folders created by previous instalation.

Everything works OK if I choose instalation for single user (I have two users - maybe here is the reason).
Additionaly backup of existing configuration do not copy all data from Roaming folder (scripts for sure are missed in the zip file).

Portable version works correctly also with upgrade.

Such problem I see since I use MC (few years).

PS.
I have all updates installed to my Windows 10 Pro.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2021, 20:04:26 by Lukasz S. »
Polish translator
Lukasz S.

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3795
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: v11.0 - Release Candidate (Updated 13-Feb)
« Reply #31 on: February 15, 2021, 20:43:39 »
Did it few times with no success (forced few times) - even fresh instalation with deleted all files, folders created by previous instalation.

Everything works OK if I choose instalation for single user (I have two users - maybe here is the reason).
Additionaly backup of existing configuration do not copy all data from Roaming folder (scripts for sure are missed in the zip file).

Portable version works correctly also with upgrade.

Such problem I see since I use MC (few years).

PS.
I have all updates installed to my Windows 10 Pro.

Very strange. I tried on many machines. Works. so I have no clue why it fails for you.

Lukasz S.

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: v11.0 - Release Candidate (Updated 13-Feb)
« Reply #32 on: February 15, 2021, 23:20:12 »
Finally! MC is working again!
There was some Windows issue probably - after few hours of cleaning registry and temp files, few restarts and MC installation trials it is working. What was the reason I don't know.

PS.
Please verify only making of settings backup, because not all settings are copied.
I lost some settings and scripts.
Polish translator
Lukasz S.

Pawel

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: v11.0 - Release Candidate (Updated 13-Feb)
« Reply #33 on: February 16, 2021, 19:35:37 »
Mathias,

I would like to askabout MultiScript. Is there a way to get the Windows known folders path using MultiScript?

I know, Multi Commander supports TranslateEnvString function to get environment path, for example:
Code: [Select]
@var $tag = TranslateEnvString("%WINDIR%");It works great, but there is not much env variables to get...

There are plenty of Windows CSIDL_* variables (https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/deployment/usmt/usmt-recognized-environment-variables)? Can I use it? How?
Or can I use guids? For example: {031E4825-7B94-4dc3-B131-E946B44C8DD5} (this should points to Windows Libraries)?

Is there support for SHGetKnownFolderPath() function to get all this paths?

I would like to display given path in MC Explorer list, using Multi Script commands via custom menu.

Thanks for any help,
-Pawel

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3795
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: v11.0 - Release Candidate (Updated 13-Feb)
« Reply #34 on: February 17, 2021, 08:02:24 »
Mathias,

I would like to askabout MultiScript. Is there a way to get the Windows known folders path using MultiScript?

I know, Multi Commander supports TranslateEnvString function to get environment path, for example:
Code: [Select]
@var $tag = TranslateEnvString("%WINDIR%");It works great, but there is not much env variables to get...

There are plenty of Windows CSIDL_* variables (https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/deployment/usmt/usmt-recognized-environment-variables)? Can I use it? How?
Or can I use guids? For example: {031E4825-7B94-4dc3-B131-E946B44C8DD5} (this should points to Windows Libraries)?

Is there support for SHGetKnownFolderPath() function to get all this paths?

I would like to display given path in MC Explorer list, using Multi Script commands via custom menu.

Thanks for any help,
-Pawel
No there is no function that expose Windows SHGetKnowFolderPath. Problem is that many of the path there are not real existing path.
Windows Libraries are not a folder location. It is a virtual shell folder for Windows Shell. and MC do not show them since MC is not built ontop of Windows Shell. MC show the FileSystem as it is.