Author Topic: V.11 (Build 2770) Command Line Bar Icon Size  (Read 979 times)

Slava

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
V.11 (Build 2770) Command Line Bar Icon Size
« on: February 23, 2021, 22:12:30 »
Today my portable MC (x64) updated to v.11 (Build 2770, Feb 23, 2021) and icons in Command Line Bar are displayed as too big, not fitting to dedicated space.
See attached "2021-02-23 - CommLineBar Icons.jpg" image.
This was not the case in the prior v.10.2.0.2745.
Does anyone know how to fix/adjust the size for those icons in Command Line Bar in the latest v.11?
Or this is a bug?

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3815
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: V.11 (Build 2770) Command Line Bar Icon Size
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2021, 23:43:54 »
Strange..
What settings are you using for toolbar icon size in Core settings and is auto scale enabled/disabled, and what DPI Scaling settings du you have in Windows.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2021, 23:45:38 by Mathias (Author) »

Slava

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: V.11 (Build 2770) Command Line Bar Icon Size
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2021, 03:52:16 »
Device info:
 - Lenovo         YOGA-900-13ISK2 Signature Edition
 - Device name    ---
 - Processor      Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6560U CPU @ 2.20GHz   2.21 GHz
 - Installed RAM  8.00 GB
 - Device ID      ---
 - Product ID     ---
 - System type    64-bit operating system, x64-based processor
 - Pen and touch  Touch support with 10 touch points

Windows Specification:
 - Edition        Windows 10 Home
 - Version        20H2
 - Installed on ‎  6/‎18/‎2020
 - OS build       19042.804
 - Serial number  ---
 - Experience     Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.551.0

Display - Scale and Layout (see "2021-02-23 - Display - Scale and Layout.jpg")
 - Size of text, apps, and other items: 250% (Recommended)
 - Display resolution                 : 3200x1800 (Recommended)

After I tried several combinations of:
 1) DPI scaling    (Appliction, System)
 2) Icon Size and  (100%, 200%)
 3) Auto scale     (checked, unchecked)
everything looks like the size of Icons in the Command Line Bar IS NOT AFFECTED by any of the above settings.

See attached screen snapshots:

2021-02-23 - DPI Scaling (Application).jpg
2021-02-23 - DPI Scaling (Application) - Core Setting - Icon Size 100% (no Auto scale).jpg
2021-02-23 - DPI Scaling (Application) - Core Setting - Icon Size 100%.jpg
2021-02-23 - DPI Scaling (Application) - Core Setting - Icon Size 200% (no Auto scale).jpg
2021-02-23 - DPI Scaling (Application) - Core Setting - Icon Size 200%.jpg


Following three attachments I will try to submit separately cause of forum limitations on the number of attachments.
2021-02-23 - DPI Scaling (System).jpg
2021-02-23 - DPI Scaling (System) - Core Setting - Icon Size 100% (no Auto scale).jpg
2021-02-23 - DPI Scaling (System) - Core Setting - Icon Size 200% (no Auto scale).jpg


Slava

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: V.11 (Build 2770) Command Line Bar Icon Size
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2021, 03:56:41 »
Three attachments for the prior post:
2021-02-23 - DPI Scaling (System).jpg
2021-02-23 - DPI Scaling (System) - Core Setting - Icon Size 100% (no Auto scale).jpg
2021-02-23 - DPI Scaling (System) - Core Setting - Icon Size 200% (no Auto scale).jpg


I tried With and Without "Auto scale" and there is no difference.

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3815
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: V.11 (Build 2770) Command Line Bar Icon Size
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2021, 07:54:39 »
You should not override scaling in compatibility mode for MC since MC will try to scale depending on dpi.
at 250% scaling It works for me if I have auto scaling enabling in MC for toolbar and set it to 100%.. 100% without scaling is 16px so with 250% scaling it should be 40px
After doing changes in MC you need to restart MC since not all parts can resize dyanmically.

Slava

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: V.11 (Build 2770) Command Line Bar Icon Size
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2021, 08:10:29 »
Great! That works! Thank you!
I was absolutely under impression that MC properly restarts itself (as it says) since I see a result of different icon size settings right away on the tool bar.
It turns out that for Command Line Bar I have to restart MC manually to see the effect.
This is a bit confusing since similar icons are handled differently for different bars though both are controlled by the same setting.
Anyway, it's a good workaround.
Thanks again, Mathias!!!

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3815
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: V.11 (Build 2770) Command Line Bar Icon Size
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2021, 08:22:28 »
Yes I know :), Problem is that the dialog that pops up saying you need to restart is ignored by many, We are so used to just click away dialogs popping up.
But there are plans to fix that.