Author Topic: Hotkeys Not Triggering Often - Works For Short Periods Only !  (Read 6887 times)

total_annihilation00

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Tech Savant\ Envisioneering
    • View Profile
The custom shortcut keys I assigned either keep getting unresponsive or stop getting triggered from time to time !!  I really would like there to be a more robust hotkey system with persistence. Usually this happens when I close & restart quickly —I depend a lot on the shortcuts keys, please try to fix them in a future release.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2024, 17:38:56 by total_annihilation00 »
~The World's Deceit Has Raped My Soul, We Melt The Plastic People Down Then We Melt Their Plastic Town~


AlanJB

  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 433
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Hotkeys Not Triggering Often - Works For Short Periods Only !
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2024, 10:21:11 »
I also have this problem once or twice a week.  I agree it is more likely to occur when I close & restart MC quickly.

I have noticed that when the instance without a loaded CustomKeymappings.xml is closed, it does not overwrite my (correct) CustomKeymappings.xml.
So a restart (or three) of the program eventually reads and loads the correct CustomKeymappings.xml

@total_annihilation00, what antivirus do you use?

total_annihilation00

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Tech Savant\ Envisioneering
    • View Profile
Re: Hotkeys Not Triggering Often - Works For Short Periods Only !
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2024, 17:39:36 »
I use COMODO Internet Security Premium (free)
~The World's Deceit Has Raped My Soul, We Melt The Plastic People Down Then We Melt Their Plastic Town~


Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4325
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Hotkeys Not Triggering Often - Works For Short Periods Only !
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2024, 07:34:29 »
Is it all keys or some ?
I have not been able to reproduce it.  But it loads keys and other things parallel during start up so it can be a race condition.. it can be that some commands are setup before all customized keys are finished loaded. I will move around so customized keys are loaded earlier for the next release.

AlanJB

  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 433
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Hotkeys Not Triggering Often - Works For Short Periods Only !
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2024, 14:45:55 »
I use COMODO Internet Security Premium (free)

I'm using Avast Premium (paid for), so that's not a common factor...

AlanJB

  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 433
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Hotkeys Not Triggering Often - Works For Short Periods Only !
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2024, 14:48:25 »
Is it all keys or some ?
I have not been able to reproduce it.  But it loads keys and other things parallel during start up so it can be a race condition.. it can be that some commands are setup before all customized keys are finished loaded. I will move around so customized keys are loaded earlier for the next release.

Hi Mathias.  For me it's all user-defined keys.  Key bindings revert to OOB values.

Thanks for taking a look.

Jungle

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 524
  • Old Skull
    • View Profile
Re: Hotkeys Not Triggering Often - Works For Short Periods Only !
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2024, 16:39:05 »
I reassigned Rename from default Shift+F6 to F2. At the first launch after update to 13.4 both shortcuts stopped working. And AFAIR Rename item disappeared from the keyboard customization dialog (but I'm not sure). But I was unable to find there neither F2 nor Shift+F6. After restart everything came back to normal state.

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4325
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Hotkeys Not Triggering Often - Works For Short Periods Only !
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2024, 20:24:45 »
I reassigned Rename from default Shift+F6 to F2. At the first launch after update to 13.4 both shortcuts stopped working. And AFAIR Rename item disappeared from the keyboard customization dialog (but I'm not sure). But I was unable to find there neither F2 nor Shift+F6. After restart everything came back to normal state.

Sound like it is a race condition.. file is already loaded into Windows cache the second time and the loading goes faster, so it able to load the file before it setups the commands..

total_annihilation00

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Tech Savant\ Envisioneering
    • View Profile
Re: Hotkeys Not Triggering Often - Works For Short Periods Only !
« Reply #8 on: January 26, 2024, 16:49:45 »
Is it all keys or some ?
I have not been able to reproduce it.  But it loads keys and other things parallel during start up so it can be a race condition.. it can be that some commands are setup before all customized keys are finished loaded. I will move around so customized keys are loaded earlier for the next release.

Some user-defined keys retain, some all lost. Thanks for the new Beta update, I believe it solves it —but I'd have to leave it open for some time as I've noticed over extended idle time it can sometimes stops responding. But as for in-between restarts, it appears fine now. :D
~The World's Deceit Has Raped My Soul, We Melt The Plastic People Down Then We Melt Their Plastic Town~


AlanJB

  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 433
  • VERY old Programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Hotkeys Not Triggering Often - Works For Short Periods Only !
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2024, 11:30:41 »
Hi Mathias - some feedback for you.

Build 2983 seems to have fixed the race condition causing custom key bindings to be lost.  Tested for nearly two months now.

Thanks.