Author Topic: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.  (Read 3875 times)

veds

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« on: April 12, 2024, 22:35:34 »
Select some files and copy them to a zip.
Select the same files and copy them to the same zip file.
A dialog appears with the question whether you want to overwrite the existing file in the destination folder.
Press "skip all".
Instead of skipping all existing files in the destination folder mc will ask the same question for the next file.


v14.0 build 2999 (x64)

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4319
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2024, 07:44:14 »
This post is moved to Beta Version section
Since it is about the auto handing of error, and that had major changes in the Beta..

Yes Zip and some other extension do not support the new error handing yet.

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 510
    • View Profile
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2024, 10:55:28 »
Same issue but not just for archives, drive to drive copy / move also affected. v14 b3007 W11 x64

I'm not able to update anything ATM, pdf, jpg, rar, zip etc all fail with the skip all failing to persist error. Bit of a problem when trying to back up stuff....   :(
I also noticed some strange behavior with rar crashing MC under some circumstances.  Will try to repeat it & send in a report.

Is it best to revert builds or is a fix due soon?  I can use the portable! Duh!  ;D
« Last Edit: May 11, 2024, 11:17:39 by Ulfhednar »

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4319
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2024, 18:41:01 »
Same issue but not just for archives, drive to drive copy / move also affected. v14 b3007 W11 x64

I'm not able to update anything ATM, pdf, jpg, rar, zip etc all fail with the skip all failing to persist error. Bit of a problem when trying to back up stuff....   :(
I also noticed some strange behavior with rar crashing MC under some circumstances.  Will try to repeat it & send in a report.

Is it best to revert builds or is a fix due soon?  I can use the portable! Duh!  ;D
Can you give a example when skip does all does not work. what Overwrite options is active.. "Ask" ? so it ask. or "Skip all" so it should auto skip them ?

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 510
    • View Profile
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2024, 11:36:47 »
Thanks for the reply Mathias.
I was trying to sync a folder & had some matching files; dialog opens asks for input - skip overwrite etc, clicked skip all & it immediately opened the same dialog for every next matching file. I.e. skip all isn't working for me.  Using the portable MC I was able to complete the operations normally.

...& I have just tried a regular copy operation of dissimilar files & MC 3007 CTD'd, error report dialog opened & then also crashed.  ??? :o

I can use the current portable build OK. This seems to be related to this build as it is new behaior since the update. Guess I will try fresh install also.

** managed to get the error dialog to stay up, fault in MultiCommander.exe, report sent.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2024, 11:40:16 by Ulfhednar »

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4319
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2024, 12:33:24 »
Thanks for the reply Mathias.
I was trying to sync a folder & had some matching files; dialog opens asks for input - skip overwrite etc, clicked skip all & it immediately opened the same dialog for every next matching file. I.e. skip all isn't working for me.  Using the portable MC I was able to complete the operations normally.

...& I have just tried a regular copy operation of dissimilar files & MC 3007 CTD'd, error report dialog opened & then also crashed.  ??? :o

I can use the current portable build OK. This seems to be related to this build as it is new behaior since the update. Guess I will try fresh install also.

** managed to get the error dialog to stay up, fault in MultiCommander.exe, report sent.

Yes as it say in change log for the beta.. Lots of changes around error handling. Problem is that people do not report errors.

You can now defines in advance what overwrite option you want and it will never ask you... if you select skip 'all there'. do that work ?

did it send crash report. any crash id ?

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 510
    • View Profile
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2024, 18:11:38 »
Sorry for the delayed reply Mathias. 
I did see the comment about error handling changes, so far that seems improved in speed & relevance. I should have added the crash ID above but I did send the report in.
I get a crash when trying to browse encrypted archives now, previously I would be asked for the PW - MC doesn't get to that now.  Crash  ID 1914-E114RS

This dialog & selection do not work, skip all = skip.

**whilst typing this a new build has appeared  ;D
Thanks Mathias, skip all working now, .rar with PW not working.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2024, 18:15:24 by Ulfhednar »

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4319
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2024, 22:05:34 »
Sorry for the delayed reply Mathias. 
I did see the comment about error handling changes, so far that seems improved in speed & relevance. I should have added the crash ID above but I did send the report in.
I get a crash when trying to browse encrypted archives now, previously I would be asked for the PW - MC doesn't get to that now.  Crash  ID 1914-E114RS

This dialog & selection do not work, skip all = skip.

**whilst typing this a new build has appeared  ;D
Thanks Mathias, skip all working now, .rar with PW not working.

Something special with your rar archive ? for me it ask for pwd once. and then it unpack all files .


« Last Edit: May 14, 2024, 22:07:38 by Mathias (Author) »

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 510
    • View Profile
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2024, 22:53:38 »
Could it be because it is a spanned .rar with pw? 
Error  1914-Y114TW in FSRAR.DLL (report sent)

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4319
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2024, 06:20:23 »
Could it be because it is a spanned .rar with pw? 
Error  1914-Y114TW in FSRAR.DLL (report sent)
Maybe.. I will check

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4319
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2024, 16:53:52 »
Could it be because it is a spanned .rar with pw? 
Error  1914-Y114TW in FSRAR.DLL (report sent)

Tested with rar that is splitted into mutliple files... it worked for me.
How do you unpack/copy the content from it ?

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 510
    • View Profile
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2024, 18:41:12 »
I just double click on part 1 of the rar-set. If I don't use MC I get the PW dialog as expected. 
Normally doing this in MC would also bring up the PW dialog, now CTD & MC restart.  Tried again now on different set & got  1914-I115CF error.
Sent the error report.

OT
In the Search Dialog shouldn't selections be persistent?  I'm seeing file content check boxes lose the selection between uses. Or is this a change I've not noticed?

Sorry to be creating work for you Mathias...  ;)

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4319
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #12 on: May 15, 2024, 19:43:58 »
I just double click on part 1 of the rar-set. If I don't use MC I get the PW dialog as expected. 
Normally doing this in MC would also bring up the PW dialog, now CTD & MC restart.  Tried again now on different set & got  1914-I115CF error.
Sent the error report.

OT
In the Search Dialog shouldn't selections be persistent?  I'm seeing file content check boxes lose the selection between uses. Or is this a change I've not noticed?

Sorry to be creating work for you Mathias...  ;)

Hmm strange.. I can Navigate into the rar (multi rar archive). select files,  select copy.  asked for password.. enter password. and copy continues..
Not sure what is different.

yes search settings should be remembered

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 510
    • View Profile
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2024, 11:34:47 »
I just double click on part 1 of the rar-set. If I don't use MC I get the PW dialog as expected. 

Hmm strange.. I can Navigate into the rar (multi rar archive). select files,  select copy.  asked for password.. enter password. and copy continues..
Not sure what is different.

yes search settings should be remembered

Thanks for info Mathias.
Could it be related to the build of RAR that was used to create the set?
I'll see if I have some old files & try them.

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4319
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #14 on: May 17, 2024, 12:39:27 »
I just double click on part 1 of the rar-set. If I don't use MC I get the PW dialog as expected. 

Hmm strange.. I can Navigate into the rar (multi rar archive). select files,  select copy.  asked for password.. enter password. and copy continues..
Not sure what is different.

yes search settings should be remembered

Thanks for info Mathias.
Could it be related to the build of RAR that was used to create the set?
I'll see if I have some old files & try them.
or maybe some rar settings

Mathias (Author)

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4319
    • View Profile
    • Multi Commander
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #15 on: May 17, 2024, 14:45:54 »
I just double click on part 1 of the rar-set. If I don't use MC I get the PW dialog as expected. 

Hmm strange.. I can Navigate into the rar (multi rar archive). select files,  select copy.  asked for password.. enter password. and copy continues..
Not sure what is different.

yes search settings should be remembered

Thanks for info Mathias.
Could it be related to the build of RAR that was used to create the set?
I'll see if I have some old files & try them.
It might be if it is fully encrypted with encrypted files name or just the data.. with only data it can open the rar for browsing without password..

Ulfhednar

  • Contributor
  • VIP Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 510
    • View Profile
Re: Copy to zip: skip all doesn't work.
« Reply #16 on: May 17, 2024, 23:38:55 »
I should have considered/mentioned the encrypted filenames  ::)
Allowing for that has restored normal service!  I am glad you figured it out.
Thanks for the fixes Mathias ;)