News:

MultiCommander v16.6 is released!

Main Menu

why 'overwrite'

Started by avantuser1114, February 10, 2013, 03:20:59

Previous topic - Next topic

avantuser1114

when moving folders that contains read only or system files(e.g. thumbs.db, desktop.ini) the pop up window offers an option to 'overwrite'..the way i understand it is it says 'continue'(continue move operation)..or am I misunderstanding something?other options are 'skip', 'skip all', etc..so i thought 'overwrite' means 'continue'..though i'm not sure

Mathias (Author)

Yes that an issue with the error handling. Happens because the source file can not be deleted because of Readonly attribute. When moving a file that is not on the same partition a Copy and Delete is done.
Pressing 'overwrite' will delete source file. ( the file has already been copied. )